Silent Book Exhibitions

In response to the wave of refugees arriving on the Italian island, Lampedusa, the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) launched the project “Silent Books, from the world to Lampedusa and back” in 2012. The project involved creating the first library in Lampedusa to be used by local and immigrant children. The second part of the project involved creating an exhibition of silent books collected from IBBY National Sections.

The UAEBBY took special notice of silent books as they transcend all language barriers and limitations, and a society as diverse and multilingual as that of UAE makes for the perfect environment where silent books to flourish. So far, we have held three silent book exhibitions, the first of which took place in 2017. We hosted the IBBY 2015 collection of silent books in the SAF Flying Saucer and added three silent books proudly made in the Arab world.

Our second silent book exhibition took place the following year in Zayed Central Library Al Ain, featuring the third IBBY silent book collection in addition to the first wave of silent books published in UAE. Our third exhibition took place in Abu Dhabi International Book Fair 2019 where we collaborated with Sharjah World Book Capital Office to curate 50 titles of fascinating silent books.

معارض الكتب الصامتة

استجابة لموجة اللاجئين المتدفقين إلى الجزيرة الإيطالية لامبيدوزا، أطلق المجلس الدولي لكتب اليافعين مشروع “الكتب الصامتة، من العالم إلى لامبيدوزا ومنها إلى العالم” في عام 2012. وتضمّن المشروع إنشاء أول مكتبة في لامبيدوزا ليستعملها أطفال الجزيرة وأطفال المهاجرين. يتضمن الجزء الثاني من المشروع إنشاء معرض للكتب الصامتة المجمعة من الأقسام الوطنية التابعة للمجلس الدولي لكتب اليافعين.

اهتم المجلس الإماراتي لكتب اليافعين بالكتب الصامتة وسلط عليها الضوء لانها تتخطى كافة العوائق والحواجز اللغوية، ولأن مجتمع دولة الإمارات متعدد الجنسيات وبه لغات متنوعة فهو يشكل بيئة خصبة لنمو الكتب الصامتة. وقد نظمنا حتى الآن ثلاثة معارض للكتب الصامتة، كان أولها في عام 2017 في مبنى الطبق الطائر التابع لمؤسسة الشارقة للفنون، وضم مجموعة الكتب الصامتة الخاصة بالمجلس الدولي لكتب اليافعين لعام 2015، وأضفنا الى هذه المجموعة ثلاثة عناوين من الكتب الصامتة التي تم إنتاجها في الوطن العربي.

في العام التالي، 2018، أقمنا معرضنا الثاني للكتب الصامتة في مكتبة زايد المركزية بأبوظبي، وعرضنا فيه مجموعة المجلس الدولي لكتب اليافعين بالإضافة الى أول موجة من الكتب الصامتة إماراتية الصنع. ثم أقمنا ثالث معرض للكتب الصامتة في معرض أبوظبي الدولي للكتاب لعام 2019 بالتعاون مع مكتب الشارقة عاصمة عالمية للكتاب وعرضنا فيه 50 عنوانا من الكتب الصامتة المميزة.